About CAA

The Civil Aviation Authority of Kiribati known as a Civil Aviation Division is one of the Governmental divisions under the Ministry of Information, Communications, Transport and Tourism Development (MICTTD) and is responsible for all Aviation activities in the country.

Generally, this office is accountable to the Minister for MICTTD for the provision of advice in relation to activities to ensure that the Kiribati Civil Aviation Regulations are complied.

Since Kiribati is a member of an ICAO – International Civil Aviation Organization, its main obligation as a member State is to comply to all ICAO 19 Annexes through the Civil Aviation Division. This means that the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) of Kiribati is the Government’s focal points to Civil Aviation organizations internationally and regionally include 

  1. IATA – International Air Transport Association
  2. APAC – Asia Pacific Regional Office (ICAO)
  3. PASO – Pacific Aviation Safety Office 4.PICASST – Pacific Island Civil Aviation Safety and Security Treaty



  • To be one of the leading Civil Aviation Authorities in the Pacific


  • To provide safe, secure and efficient aviation services to our Aviation stakeholders internally and externally
  • To ensure that ICAO regulations and standards are complied by our stakeholders

Core Values

  • Commitment
  • Customer focus
  • Integrity
  • Safety and Security


The followings are some of the main responsibilities for the Civil Aviation Division 

  • Provision of advices to minister for political issues
  • Controlling of Airspace in Kiribati
  • The establishment of Air Services Agreements with sovereignties wishing to generate links between their sovereignties and Kiribati
  • The facilitation of requests for non-scheduled International Air operators wishing to use the Kiribati airport (landing permit) or Kiribati Airspace (Overfly Permit)
  • In facilitating the issue of air service licences to international operators wishing to provide scheduled air services into and out of Kiribati according to the Air Services Agreement

Other responsibilities of this authority are available upon request.

Legislation & Standard

Primary Legislations

There are two main primary legislation used in Kiribati. These includes:

  1. Aircraft Security Act 1990
    • This act was signed in 1990 by the president of the Republic of Kiribati due to the needs to be promulgated to meet the rise or increase in the number of aircraft accidents in the world.
  2. Civil Aviation Act 2004

This Act was signed in 2004 by the President of the Republic of Kiribati as a replacement of the old primary legislations including the followings:

  • UK Civil Aviation Act 1949 – used during the colony
  • Air Navigation (Overseas Territories) Order 1977; and
  • Aerodromes and Air Navigation Aids Ordinance 1977.

These primary legislations are no longer valid but still used for referencing.

This Civil Aviation Act 2004 is divided into 15 Parts and contains 212 Sections.


To in-line with PIFS Head of States resolution in the rationalisation of air legislation, the Kiribati Minister for Civil Aviation (MICTTD) used his power delegated in the Kiribati Civil Aviation Act 2004 to make adoption/adaption to any rules or regulations from other contracting states as it own, to adopt/adapt the New Zealand Civil Aviation Rules (NZCAR) by signing the adoption/adaption statement in 2005 for some Rule Parts. However, in early 2017, the new Minister (Civil Aviation) is then signed another adoption statements for the remaining NZCAR Parts to be adopted and adapted in Kiribati and recognized as a Kiribati Civil Aviation Rules (KCAR) 2005.

Since it is the adoption and adaption, some parts in the NZCARs are not exist in the current KCARs. 

Rules under development

To access the set of rules, please click here.